RECIPE REVIEW – Edamame Succotash

I have missed blogging and staying in touch with my NutriFocus family!  This weekend I celebrated my mom’s birthday so I was unable to get to my computer!  I had a fabulous time sharing this weekend with family and friends!
As Monday rolls around, so does my usual schedule, which means it is time for another RECIPE REVIEW!!  This week I chose to try Edamame Succotash because it called for ingredients that I had on hand and wanted to use to save money on groceries.  The recipe required little prep time and very little cooking time which fit my busy Monday schedule.

I made a minor substitution to the recipe but the taste was not compromised on any level.  Since I already had fresh lima beans in the freezer, (thanks Mike’s grandma!!) I simply substituted the lima beans for the edamame beans.  The recipe calls for pork bacon, but you could use turkey bacon as the substitute if you do not eat pork for religious reasons!  This is the major source of flavor for this recipe, so do not stray too far away when searching for a substitute!

Due to fact that I refuse to cook bacon in a skillet b/c I always get “popped”, I called for back-up so Mike joined me in the kitchen to help with cooking the bacon. Normally I would cook the bacon in the oven, but it is important that the bacon is cooked in the skillet so the dish can keep most of the flavor.  But for all other purposes, I recommend cooking bacon in the oven to avoid injury and for easier clean-up!!

Once the bacon was cooked and removed from the pan, it was simply an act of adding each ingredient one by one.

 

First addition: Onions

Second addition: Corn – Since corn is not in season, I used a 10oz package of frozen corn for this recipe. I definitely think fresh corn would really add flavor to this dish, but frozen did the trick for this season!

Third addition: Lima Beans.  Lima Beans can be a great source of folate, potassium, and iron! These little green beans also pack a super punch with a significant level of fat free, high-quality protein and dietary, cholesterol-lowering fiber which helps keep blood sugar levels stable which is important for individuals with diabetes, hypoglycemia, or insulin resistance. Lima beans are also known to be high in a trace mineral called, molybdenum, which is part of process of detoxifying sulfites. Sulfites are preservatives commonly found in prepared foods and if an individual is sensitive to sulfites, they can experience rapid heartbeat and/or headaches.  By increasing your molybdenum stores, you can improve your ability to detox sulfites, therefore, decreasing or preventing side effects.

Fourth Addition: Spices, Red Bell Pepper, and Plum Tomatoes – Red bell peppers provide this recipe with a significant dose of Vitamin A & C and lycopene. Lycopene is a carotenoid that may lower risks for certain types of cancers.

Final Addition: Bacon Pieces

To round out the meal, I added a piece of French baguette with melted havarti cheese! This was simply made by cutting a fourth of the baguette in half, placing approx 1-1 ½ oz havarti cheese, and placing in 425 degree oven for approx. 5 minutes, then broiling for another 2 minutes!  The flavors really complemented each other and really gave it a comfort food feel.  My husband and I both agreed that this recipe is a keeper due to the ease of preparation/cooking, inexpensive cost of ingredients, powerful nutrition stats, and the one of a kind taste that took us by surprise!  It was delicious!

We both highly recommend all of you trying this recipe and letting us know what you think!

 

EDAMAME SUCCOTASH – “Cooking Light” Recipe

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 1/4 cups)
Cost per Serving: $2.47

Ingredients

  • 1  slice center-cut bacon
  • 1  tablespoon  butter
  • 2  cups  chopped sweet onion
  • 2  cups  fresh corn kernels (about 3 ears)
  • 1  (16-ounce) bag frozen, shelled edamame, thawed
  • 2  tablespoons  red wine vinegar
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2  teaspoon  sugar
  • 3  plum tomatoes, coarsely chopped
  • 1  red bell pepper, seeded and coarsely chopped
  • 3  tablespoons  torn basil

Preparation

1. Cook bacon in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan, reserving 2 teaspoons drippings in pan; coarsely chop bacon.

2. Increase the heat to medium-high. Melt butter in drippings in pan. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add corn kernels; sauté for 3 minutes or until lightly charred. Add edamame, and sauté for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in vinegar and next 5 ingredients (through bell pepper); cook 30 seconds, stirring occasionally. Sprinkle with bacon and basil.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe Recommendation

One response to “RECIPE REVIEW – Edamame Succotash

  1. Kalyn

    I made this recipe for dinner last night. I was a little skeptical, but I had some edamamae that I wasn’t sure what to do with, so I gave it a chance; I’m so glad I did! I thought this dish was delicious and super easy (: The only substitutions I made were balsamic vinegar for red wine vinegar & I had to use dried basil instead of fresh, since I was out of both. I’ll definitely be adding this to my recipe box!

Leave a Reply

