Recipe Review: Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Let’s face it, I’m typically not a casserole fan, but this recipe definitely caught my attention.  Since casseroles tend to be a fast, easy meal to feed a family I thought I would test out this tasty recipe from Cooking Light to provide the NutriFocus family with one more way to get a healthy, dinner on the table in no time!

I did make one change to the ingredient list.  I already had chicken breast in the freezer, so I boiled two chicken breasts and shredded the chicken in a food processor before adding to the dish! This took the place of the rotisserie chicken the recipe originally called for!

Mike and I both agreed that the recipe is a keeper!! We do suggest  adding a dollop of sour cream on each serving to add a little flavor.  The best part, it was GREAT for leftovers the next day!!  So if you are short on time and need leftovers, this recipe is the perfect fit!!

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Recipe From: Cooking Light

Yield: 10 servings (serving size: 1 casserole slice and 1 tablespoon sour cream)

Ingredients

  • 1  tablespoon  canola oil
  • 1  cup  prechopped fresh onion
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  ground cumin
  • 1  teaspoon  chili powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  garlic salt
  • Dash of ground red pepper
  • 2  (15.5-ounce) cans Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2  cups  shredded skinless, boneless rotisserie chicken
  • 1  cup  thinly sliced green onions, divided
  • 1/2  cup  sliced ripe olives, divided
  • 18  (6-inch) corn tortillas, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 2  cups  (8 ounces) pre-shredded reduced-fat 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese, divided
  • 1  cup  1% low-fat milk
  • 1/2  cup  chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1  (16-ounce) jar green salsa
  • 10  tablespoon  reduced-fat sour cream
  • Cilantro sprigs (optional)

Preparation

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add prechopped onion; cook 3 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Stir in cumin, chili powder, garlic salt, and pepper; cook 1 minute. Stir in beans; cook 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Add chicken, 1/2 cup green onions, and 7 tablespoons ripe olives; stir well.

Preheat oven to 350°.

Layer 6 tortillas on bottom of a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Spread 2 cups chicken mixture over tortillas; sprinkle with 3/4 cup cheese. Repeat layers once. Top with remaining 6 tortillas.

Combine milk, chopped cilantro, and salsa in a blender, and process until smooth. Pour over top of tortillas. Cover and bake at 350° for 35 minutes. Uncover, sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese, remaining 1/2 cup green onions, and remaining 1 tablespoon olives. Bake for 5 minutes or until cheese melts. Serve with sour cream. Garnish with cilantro sprigs, if desired.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe Recommendation, Suzanne's Thoughts

One response to “Recipe Review: Chicken Enchilada Casserole

  1. Susannah B.

    I am going to try this recipe before too long! It looks and sounds great! Seeing a picture of this dish assembled in the skillet made me want to share some information that has surprisingly changed my life in an unexpected way.

    For years, I have been cooking in iron skillets, pots, and dutch ovens. I like the look of iron kitchen utensils around the kitchen, and I like the interesting and dramatic effect that goes along with serving meals at the table in these iron utensils. But, whenever I am doing something with eggs, fish, or meat, the protein in these foods bonds to the iron, and it is practically impossible to quickly get the skillets clean. I have soaked many skillets overnight before I could wash the used skillet the next morning. But I like the iron cookware, and have accepted this strategy as cleanup fact of life.

    But, several months ago, I was making something that absolutely, positively called for a non-stick skillet which I got a skillet at Walmart, and my life has never been the same since!!! NOTHING, and I mean NOTHING sticks to that surface, and the residue from omelets or hashbrowns is washed away effortlessly in a matter of seconds! So, now I cook all the egg and fish recipes in the non-stick pan, and do the vegetables, cornbread, and other dishes in the iron skillets. I now have the best of both worlds, because I have practicality and ambiance all at the same time!

    So, this is a little tip for anyone out there who has not used non-stick cookware yet. Run as fast as you can to Walmart to purchase some of this cookware, and you will see what a dramatic change it will make in your life.

Leave a Reply

