Food & Friends – Food’s Social Aspect (Part 1)

In America, food can be the central focus in the majority of social scenes.  For those who suffer from disordered eating or eating disorders, this can be paralyzing and increase the desire to isolate.  I am a dietitian who is passionate about removing rigid “food rules” and striving to help individuals learn how to enjoy food without limitations, but in moderation. With the holidays approaching, social eating will be on the rise.  With that being said, I wanted to share a few of my experiences dining out with my friends in a new miniseries I am calling “Food & Friends – Food’s Social Aspect.”

This miniseries will be a chance for me to share a few personal experiences involving different foods I’ve recently tried, either directly and indirectly, related to a social setting in hopes to encourage you to stop allowing a diet mentality to dictate the type of relationships in your life!!  Perhaps you can also use the restaurant reviews as a way to decide where your next girls’ night out will be!

Memphis, Tennessee – October 29th – 31st

It is imperative that all women have good girlfriends.  They can be the very foundation on which we stand to survive life’s mishaps and celebrate life’s goodness.  I am very fortunate and have a few close knit friends that I consider part of my family!

During this particular weekend, a couple of my girlfriends and I planned to see “Wicked” at the Orpheum  in Memphis, TN to celebrate Halloween weekend in a new and different way!  Ms. Katrina (my BF’s mom) kicked off the weekend by giving us a “Wicked” happy which included an adorable witch mug filled with all our favorite candies!

Next, my friends and I met for a girls’ night out dinner at a fabulous restaurant called Bluefin. (www.bluefinmemphis.com) If you are ever in Memphis, you MUST put this on your to-do list.

We started off our wonderful meal with an appetizer of edamame!

April and I wanted to try sushi and an entrée so we decided to split sushi and a flatbread pizza cooked in a wood oven.

Christina is the meat eater of the group so she enjoyed a delectable steak with shoestring French fries.  Everyone left the table impressed with the service, in awe of the atmosphere, and more than satisfied by the quality of food!

We had a blast watching “Wicked” at the Orpheum!!  If you are looking to plan an entertaining evening, check out the schedule to see when “Wicked” will be near you!

And of course the night was not over until we had DESSERT!!  Dessert came from Dreamcakes Bakery (www.dreamcakes-bakery.com)  located in the Edgewood District of Homewood in Birmingham, AL. Dreamcakes’ cupcakes are definitely the best in the southeast, if not the entire country! My personal cupcake favorite is the “Simply Strawberry” followed closely by “Pumpkin”.  April’s favorite cupcake is “Over the Moon” which is a flavor that can only be found at Dreamcakes Bakery, and my husband’s favorite cupcake is the traditional white cake with white icing that  is called “Wedding Cake”.  They have a cupcake for everyone along the spectrum!

Pumpkin Cupcake on the Left, Wedding Cake Cupcake on the Right

The imaginative flavors and wonderful quality make the cupcakes more than dessert, they are an experience! Their slogan perfectly describes this establishment, “Cupcakes make people happy!”.

Dreamcakes Located at 960 Oxmoor Road; Bham AL 35209, Phone: 205-871-9377; Hours: Tues-Fri 10am-6pm and Sat 11am-5pm

Let me know if you’ve tried Bluefin or Dreamcakes Bakery in the past or if you do in the future! I would love to hear reviews from other members of the NutriFocus family!!

In closing, I leave you with the following quote, which I feel fully describes a “healthy” relationship with food  –

“Everything in moderation… including moderation.” ~ Julia Childs

3 Comments

Filed under Product Review, Restaurant Review, Suzanne's Thoughts

3 responses to “Food & Friends – Food’s Social Aspect (Part 1)

  1. Hays B.

    Suzanne:

    Julia Childs herself could not have written a more motivational and insightful blog entry!! I LOVE the part of your entry where you write about removing the “rigid food rules,” and how in doing so, one is granted ultimate freedom – a freedom that extends beyond the dinner table and into social scenes around us. THANK YOU for reminding the NutriFocus family, most specifically me, of the joys surrounding flexible eating!

    I look forward to the rest of the series (and, of course, the PICTURES to follow)!

  2. Sheena

    Suzanne,
    I really like these posts. It is reassuring and motivating to see how your relationship with food is and that you don’t live by life-hindering food rules. Also, I think I will have to get my husband a cupcake for his upcoming birthday! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Christina

    I can’t believe I’m just now reading this! You are so wonderful and creative 🙂 and Wicked really was amazing. You are inspirational, Suz!

Leave a Reply

