Recipe Review: Fruity Roasted Sweet Potatoes!

Hi NutriFocus Family! I’m so happy to be back and blogging with you guys! I promise the blogs will begin to be more consistent now that I’m back in my normal routine!  I want to make the NutriFocus Blog ALL ABOUT YOU in 2011! Please send me topic request or if you are more bold, your very own blog to appear as a guest blogger!  I look forward to receiving feedback from you guys!

Just waking up with Auntie on Christmas Day!

Hartwell with Auntie Suz

 

One thing I love about the holidays is just how DIFFERENT everyone’s holiday celebrations can be! My family is pretty traditional, but none the less, every year I love it more and more!  I was fortunate enough to have my entire immediate family around me on Christmas Day!  My brother George and his family arrived first (Kristi, Slayden, and Claudia) from Kansas!  Mike and I were the next to arrive. And my brother Will and his family (Greer and Hartwell) arrived the afternoon of Christmas Day!  It was such a joy to spend quality time with everyone, as it is very hard to all get together the older we get!

Slayden Loved His Helicopters This Christmas!

Throughout the time at home we were fed many many delicious dishes, but the recipe review is on a particular dish that my sister-in-law (Kristi) shared with my mother!  Fruity Roasted Sweet Potatoes (recipe posted at end of blog) were a perfect choice for Christmas dinner because it not only added great flavor to the meal, it also brought vibrant colors to the entire display of food. The bright orange of the sweet potatoes and deep burgundy of the cranberries really added a holiday touch!

I was excited to try this dish, but also a nervous since I’m not a fan of the tartness of real cranberries.  The first bite definitely opened up my eyes to a new taste for cranberries. Due to the long roasted time, the cranberries had softened and formed a sweet taste. The flavors mixed together in a way that was unlike any dish I’ve ever tasted!  The nuts and coconut helped add additional texture and depth to the recipe!  This is a great recipe to keep on your holiday table!!  Since we are a traditional family, we served this dish with Smoked Ham, Green Bean and Shoepeg Corn Casserole, and dessert which was a choice of:

Edgar’s Holiday Sugar Cookie & holiday petifores, Scooby Snacks,

or

Sugaree’s Strawberry Cake!

Of course I chose the strawberry cake from Sugaree’s Bakery (www.sugarees.com). This top-notch bakery is located in New Albany, Mississippi. I learned of this bakery by tailgaiting in the Grove at Ole Miss!  This cake is a staple under most tailgating tents within the city limits of Oxford, Mississippi. Sugaree’s has recently started delivery cakes via mail and ordering is easy now that it is online!  If you are in need of a cake, do not hesitate!  Their strawberry and caramel cake are the absolute best around!

 

Fruity Roasted Sweet Potatoes

3 sweet pot peeled and cubed                              1 1/2 T. packed brown sugar

2 granny smith apples peeled and cubed                1 1/2 T. chopped walnuts

2 T. olive oil                                                         1/4 c. sweetened flaked coconut

1 C. fresh cranberries                                             1 tsp ground ginger

1 T. honey                                                              1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

Combine potatoes, apples and oil in lightly greased 13 x 9 pan. mix well. sprinkle cranberries on top and drizzle with honey. bake uncovered at 450 for 10 min. reduce heat to 350 and bake 45-50 min (mine needed longer–just keep checking your potatoes). mix together brown sugar and remaining ingredients. sprinkle over potatoes and bake 5 more minutes

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, Recipe Recommendation, Suzanne's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

